Home » Uncategorized » Social Media Taking Over My Life

Social Media Taking Over My Life

Social media is taking over the world. Everywhere I look there is a link to someone’s or something’s Facebook or Twitter. People look at me in shock when I say I don’t have a personal Twitter account. These days if you’re not Instagramming, Facebooking, Tweeting, Poking or Pinning, then you are out of the loop and considered a social outcast.

I openly admit that I have been sucked into the social media phenomenon. Social media has become my best procrastination technique over the years. I find myself constantly checking my Instagram to see what picture my friends upload of their dog, cat, food or other random picture that nobody really should care about but somehow happens to get 40 likes. I login to Facebook and realize I have been chatting to my friends for hours instead of doing the paper that is due at midnight. I don’t even have a Twitter but find myself looking at celebrity Twitters from time to time. I even login to my sister’s Pinterest account to look at clothes and makeup tutorials whenever I run out of procrastination ideas. I would feel completely oblivious to the world without knowing what my friends are up to via social media.

The thing that worries me the most about social media is my privacy. I just had to clean up my Facebook account because I am now friends with my dad, aunts, uncles and anyone else who I would rather not see me out partying on a Friday night. With that said, I hope this class teaches me how to professionally use social media to better my resume when I enter the work world. I want to be able to use social media for professional use rather than procrastination techniques.

This is a good link about “friends” on Facebook and the pros and cons of the site.

This link says Twitter will only last 5 more years. I’m going to say more than that.

Leave a Reply

